February 3, 2023

Xbox has confirmed that will probably be returning to Tokyo Recreation Present this yr with one other streaming presentation.

The present will air on September 15 at 6:00 PM JST / 2:00 AM PDT / 5:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM BST, and in keeping with Xbox, will probably be “a present made for our gamers in Japan and Asia”.

“We invite followers to tune in to the Tokyo Recreation Present 2022 Xbox Stream, the place you’ll be able to see updates to present video games from Xbox Recreation Studios and video games launched by developer companions that we hope will delight gamers in Japan, Asia and different international locations. world,” the corporate stated in a press release.

Xbox will stream the presentation on its YouTube channels in Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Southeast Asia, Australia, and New Zealand, in addition to the official Tokyo Recreation Present channel.

Whereas the presentation is more likely to be primarily centered on bulletins appropriate for the Asian market, the 2 earlier Xbox displays on the Tokyo Recreation Present nonetheless had bulletins relevant to the west as effectively.

In its first presentation, Flight Simulator’s Japan-related content material was introduced, and final yr’s presentation confirmed a slew of indie titles from Japanese builders, in addition to revealing that Scarlet Nexus could be added to Recreation Cross on the identical day.

Xbox continues to attempt to make an affect in Japan, the place it has historically struggled to get near the extent of success it has within the west.

His renewed efforts turned obvious along with his newest console launch. The Xbox Sequence X and S had been launched in several territories (in comparison with a yr later with the earlier console), with Xbox boss Phil Spencer stating that he intends to raised serve Japanese avid gamers on this console technology.

The plan appears to be working to some extent – it was revealed in July that Sequence X/S gross sales had been already greater than double that of the Xbox One’s lifetime gross sales in Japan, with greater than 300,000 consoles bought within the nation so far.

Nonetheless, the Xbox Sequence nonetheless has a protracted approach to go earlier than it breaks Xbox information in Japan: Microsoft’s best-selling console within the area is the Xbox 360, with 1.6 million models bought throughout its lifetime.

Over the previous couple of months, the Xbox Sequence X and S have seen extraordinary gross sales progress in Japan, at one level even surpassing the PlayStation 5 in two separate weeks (though this was nearly definitely attributable to an absence of stock).